Current Committees

Conference Committees

2020 (50th Anniversary) Conference Committee
Karen Anderson, (Chair) | University College Dublin

Julia Moses | University of Sheffield
Kimberly Morgan | George Washington University
Erik Bleich | Middlebury College

Nicole Shea, (Director) | Council for European Studies

Chukwama Ndulue | Council for European Studies


2020 (50th Anniversary) Program Committee
Adrian Favell, (Co-Chair) | University of Leeds
Rósa Magnusdottir, (Co-Chair) | Aarhus University

Jason Beckfield, (Co-Chair) | Harvard University

Sigrun Olafsdottir | University of Iceland
Silja Bara Omarsdottir | University of Iceland 
Christian Suter | University of Neuchatel/World Society Foundation
Hans-Peter Meier | World Society Foundation (Zurich)
Karen Anderson | University College Dublin
Koen Slootmaeckers | City, University of London
Katrin Sieg | Georgetown University
Oliver Schmidtke | University of Victoria
Helene Ducros | University of North Carolina Wilmington
Guya Accornero | University Institute of Lisbon
2020 (50th Anniversary) Local Organizing Committee 
Sigrún Ólafsdóttir, (Chair) | University of Iceland

Strategic Development Committee 

Carl J. Strikwerda, (Chair) | Elizabethtown College
Erik Bleich | Middlebury College 
Anna Gryzmala Busse | Stanford University
Eileen Gillooly | Columbia University 
Nicole Shea, (Director) | Council for European Studies
Jan Willem Duyvendak | University of Amsterdam
Duncan Pickard | Associate, Debevoise & Plimpton LLP
Jane Ohlmeyer | Trinity College Dublin 

Publications Committee

Erik Jones, (Chair) | Johns Hopkins University
Jan Willem Duyvendak | University of Amsterdam
Orfeo Fioretos | Temple University
Evelyne Huber | University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Erik Bleich | Middlebury College
Nicole Shea, (Director) | Council for European Studies

Finance Committee

Duncan Pickard (Chair) | Associate, Debevoise & Plimpton LLP
Eileen Gillooly | Columbia University
Carl J. Strikwerda | Elizabethtown College
Nicole Shea, (Director) | Council for European Studies
Renée Douglas | Council for European Studies

Advisory Committees

Development Advisory Board
Lori Heninger | LRH Advisory Group
Rajiv Joshi | B-Team
Sherman Teichman | Institute for Global Leadership
Chris Hornbarger | Chief of Planning for the San Francisco VA
Jerry A. Webman | OppenheimerFunds, Inc.

Art Advisory Board
Véronique Chagnon-Burke | Christie’s Education
Patricia Karetzky | Bard College
Elizabeth de Cuevas | Master Sculptor
Greg Wyatt | Master Bronze Sculptor

Grant Committees

2019 Mellon-CES Dissertation Completion Fellowship Committee

Thomas Nolden, (Chair) | Wellesley College

Esra Akcan | Cornell University

Sabine von Mering | Brandeis University

Spyridon Papapetros | Princeton University

Ethan Pollock | Brown University

Jennifer Wild | University of Chicago

Help CES at no extra cost every time you shop on Amazon!


Council for European Studies | 475 Riverside Drive, 308i | New York, NY 10115