CES Executive Committee Ballot

Dear CES Members,

Every two years, the CES membership votes to elect candidates for the Executive Committee. This year, we are electing five members who will serve from July 1, 2020 through June 30, 2024. Each of the five candidates listed below has agreed to stand and to serve and has the enthusiastic endorsement of the current Executive Committee. 

Mark Vail, Tulane University

Mark Vail is Professor of Political Science. His research interests include comparative politics and politicial economy, West European politics, political parties, industrial relations, political ideas and ideologies, and poverty and income distribution.

Amel Ahmed, University of Massachusetts

Amel Amed’s main area of specialization is Democratic Studies, looking particularly at the politics of institutional choice in the process of democratization. She is the author of “Democracy and the Politics of Electoral System Choice: Engineering Electoral Dominance,” which won the Best Book Award from the European Politics and Society Section of the American Political Science Association.

Katrin Sieg, Georgetown University

Katrin Sieg is Professor of German jointly affiliated with the BMW Center for German and European Studies and the German department at Georgetown University. Her research focuses on German and European culture, postcolonial and critical race studies, as well as feminist studies.

Saskia Bonjour, University of Amsterdam

Saskia Bonjour is Associate Professor of Political Science. She teaches mostly in the field of gender & politics and intersectionality. Her research focuses on the politics of migration and citizenship in the Netherlands and in Europe.

Justin Powell, University of Luxembourg

Justin Powell is Professor of Sociology of Education at the University of Luxembourg. His comparative institutional analyses chart persistence and change in special and inclusive education, in vocational training and higher education, and in science and research policy.

To participate in the election process, please click here to access the voting page. You will find a check box next to each candidate’s name and may also “write in” a preferred candidate by checking the box for “Other.” Voting is open as of today and will be closed by Friday, May 22, 2020. Results will be announced in early June.

In addition, given the unprecedented circumstances that caused CES to cancel its 50th anniversary event in Iceland this year, the Chair of the Executive Committee, Erik Bleich, has asked the four outgoing members of the Board to continue their service for an additional year for the purpose of ensuring institutional continuity, and to allow them to bring their work to its conclusion. The EC thanks Karen Anderson, Jan Willem Duyvendak, Orfeo Fioretos, and Evelyne Huber for their willingness to continue as members of the Executive Committee for an additional year. To officially enable this one-year extension and to have a board of 23 members instead of 18, the CES bylaws must be amended. If affirmed by a simple majority of voting CES members, the following amendment to the bylaws will be enacted: 

“Under extraordinary circumstances, the Executive Committee may vote to extend the term of one or more of its members for up to one year.”

Thank you for taking a few moments to vote.


Nicole Shea, CES Director