Lyon Call for Proposals 2024


The CES 2024 conference is organized in close cooperation with two laboratories: Elico and Triangle.

Conference Location

14 Avenue Berthelot, Lyon 7e (Sciences Po Lyon); 18 Quai Claude Bernard, Lyon 7e (Université Lyon 2)

Partner Institutions 

CNRS | ENS de Lyon | Enssib |  Sciences Po Lyon | Université Jean Monnet de St Etienne | Université Lumière Lyon 2 | Université Lyon 1 | Université Lyon 2 | Université Lyon 3

Europe is a zone of heightened conflict. The year 2022 showed the most violent version of it, with the return of war following the Russian invasion of Ukraine justified as an extreme means of protecting Russia’s geopolitical interests. Moving to a different scale of conflict, innovations in the protest repertoire of climate activism (actions targeting artworks in museums to protest against gas and oil extraction projects) have sparked a debate about “radical” forms of action. In countries such as France and Israel, the use of constitutional tools to enact unpopular laws has unleashed massive protests and undermined the legitimacy of governments’ determination to implement reforms at “any cost”.

In light of this, the Council for European Studies would like the participants of its 30th International Conference of Europeanists to reflect on what « radicalité » means in Europe today. Who defines radicality and in relation to what kind of social, political, cultural and economic project? To what extent can radicality inform political action, and have a casting impact on democracy in Europe? How is radicality constructed, treated, denounced or claimed in contemporary public spaces? How do the media, political actors, activists, and non-governmental organisations deal with issues of radicality?

The Council for European Studies welcomes proposals for panels, roundtables, book discussions and individual papers on the study of Europe broadly defined. We encourage proposals in the widest range of disciplines and timeframes. We welcome panels that combine disciplines, genders, races, nationalities and ages.

The submission period is now closed!

Program Committee Co-Chairs: 

Isabelle Garcin-Marrou – Sciences Po Lyon, Elico

Simon Gadras – Université Lumière Lyon 2, Elico

Montserrat Emperador Badimon – Université Lumière Lyon 2, Triangle

Anne Verjus – CNRS, Triangle